you're reading...
Personal Responsibility

You Do What You Want

All of our adult lives we’ve been accustomed to this phrase or some variation thereof: “You do what you want to do” For example…We’re going to the movies. You can go if you want.   

I’m not going to have another drink. Do what you want.

Going to college was right for me. You do what you want to do.

When asked if we are generally free to make our own choices in life, no one would deny that we are. Yet, it seems too many of us forget to apply this powerful truth in the area of personal development. When it comes to perhaps the biggest personal development obstacle – failure to take action – here’s the question so many people ask: Why can’t I seem to do what I want to do?

Here’s the correct answer: You do! You do do what you want to do!!

Why do I seem to be unable to simply do what I say I want to do?

Are we not free to make our own choices in life? How, then, do you deny that everything you’re currently doing is what you want to do? 

I would suggest that when those times of frustration come (and they will); when we think we can’t figure out why we aren’t doing what we want to do; we need to consider that maybe we aren’t asking the right question. When we ask Why do I seem to be unable to simply do what I say I want to do? we might, instead, ask Why do I want to do what I am doing right now instead of what I know I need to do in order to get the results I say that I really want?  

The distinction is very important because when you ask why you can’t seem to do what you want to do, you’re dealing with a question whose premise is pure BS. Consequently, it’s a question that can never be answered satisfactorily; one that will lead to the right answer.

The fact is that you are doing what you want to do. You’re reading this because you want to. Why do you want to read this post? Well, for reasons only you know. It’s important that we not deceive ourselves into believing that we do things we don’t want to do. It just isn’t so. Everything we do, we do because, for whatever reason, we want to do it. Not consciously knowing why you want to do whatever you are doing, doesn’t mean you don’t actually want to do it.

Conversely, by asking Why do I want to do what I am doing right now instead of what I know I need to be doing to get the results I say that I really want?, now you’re asking a question that is grounded in reality and, therefore, a question for which an answer can be found.

And when you really want to make progress in personal development, isn’t it better to ask questions that have an answer rather than pointless ones that come off more like whining? (By the way, that was a rhetorical question.)    

In the next post, let’s talk about the answer to the better question: Why do I want to do what I am doing instead of what I know I need to be doing to get the results I say that I really want?

Discussion

No comments yet.

Write something really clever and meaningful

Author Jim Aitkins

Jim’s Whims… in the Form of Tweets

Quote of the Week

"Waiting to find your purpose tomorrow is a great way to ensure you don’t live with purpose today." ---Jon Acuff in his new book, Start - Punch Fear In the Face, Escape Average, Do Work That Matters Grab it here at Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Start-Punch-Escape-Average-Matters/dp/1937077594/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1373909756&sr=1-1&keywords=start+jon+acuff

Categories

Every Obstacle Blaster article that has been posted

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,006 other followers

